#moocmooc Day Three

'A throne is only a bench covered with velvet' photo (c) 2010, Nimish Gogri - license: http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0/

Assignment: I’m tasked with creating a 1 minute video on where learning takes place. I’m tweaking it to create a video on the question of does it matter where learning takes place? That is, does the place where learning happens have an impact on what is learned?

I decided to try the animation tool, xtranormal, that was recommended as I had never heard of it and I immediately thought of many educational uses. Unfortunately under my time constraints I was unable to figure out how to create a free video. Every video I tried to make required me to purchase points. I was frustrated and need to call it a night.

In lieu of the video, here is my script:

Where does learning take place?
Learning takes place everywhere, in all aspects of life..
Living is learning.
We live in physical and virtual places.
What impact do these places have on how we learn?
If I go to learn on Walden Pond will my experience of learning be any different from learning in Kahn Academy?
What rituals, practices, habits, ideas are nurtured in these different places?
Can learning be removed from place?
What type of employee, citizen, professional, colleague, friend, teacher, artist, scientist, musician, reader, learner would we be if we learned to learn in a MOOC?

New Terms:xMOOC = Institutional MOOC; cMOOC = connectivist MOOC (glad I finally got that cleared up!)

Insights:

–I find it impossible to follow a conversation on Twitter. It seems to be a cacophony of ideas, questions, posits, and links impossible (for me) to connect. Am I missing some critical tool or best practice for having a sustained conversation in this medium?
Questions:

–Professional Experience/Work is learning/school. Why do we separate it on the resume? We separate out our learning experiences because their differences provide additional insights to the reader. Insights into our values, our identities (individual and institutional), and our interests.

–Is a MOOC inherently anti-institution? Is Open Access an institution?

–Are MOOCs yet another idea co-opted as a source of revenue? We all know that a lot of students enroll in higher education but do not finish. Many do not even finish the course. xMOOCs on the surface seem to offer *affordable* alternatives for students with little impetus on the providers to guarantee completion.

–Why is Massive seemingly valued over all else? E.g., I should go where I can have the greatest reach.

Leave a Reply

