New Reads on the Digital Life

This week I came across several new interesting books. One title came to me through the Chronicle of Higher Education and another through David Weinberger’s Blog: Everything is Miscellaneous.  Both of these books address issues of living a digital life. The Young & The Digital: What the Migration to Social-Network Sites, Games, and Anytime, Anywhere Media Means for our Future addressing the implications of being born digital. How this might affect our youth’s future. The other book, Delete: The Virtue of Forgetting in the Digital Age, looks at the philosophical and psychological affects on our individual and cultural memory in an age when information can live forever in the cloud.

My plate is pretty full at the moment, but I’m looking forward to reading what these authors have to say. As I try to communicate ideas and skills to today’s students I find that many of my experiences, analogies, and examples do not resonant anymore. I’m hoping that The Young & the Digital will shed some light on how I might better communicate with these students.

In my continued stand against Facebook, I’m excited to think about the philosophical and cultural question raised in Delete that might provide a better framework for my concerns about privacy and a digital life in the new social web.

I’ll write about the most interesting and thoughtful aspects of these books. If you are reading these texts too, I hope that you’ll post comments or discuss them with me.

Leave a Reply

